WoW Account Hacked, Redux

…. and as if that weren’t enough, my attempt to log on to my WoW account was again thwarted last night, for someone had just changed the email address associated with my Battle.Net account.

According to CNET, there is evidence that thousands of players have had a keylogger installed on their computers. The keylogger is apparently selectively targetting WoW accounts only.

This is the only plausible explanation. The password I created yesterday for my account was very strong, and there were no unauthorized users logged into my email account this time. I scanned my password with no less than four anti-virus/anti-malware scanners last night, but found nothing. As I understand it, this means the thing is probably working at the kernel level, which means that my best bet is to completely wipe my hard drive(s) and start fresh. Oh joy.

Well, I suppose I’ll just continue to fight the good fight. Updates forthcoming when I have more to go on.

Update: I should point out that the hack of my account coincided almost perfectly with my download of the WoW Addon Studio. I’m not sure if there’s any actual chain of causation, but the coincidence is suspicious.

Update: I am now getting ready to run a LiveCD antivirus and antimalware scan of my PC. Results to be posted when I have them in hand.

Leave a Reply

